During the transition period in 2021, AmplifyChange will be managing both the grants awarded under the original arrangement (the consortium) and under the new arrangement (the independent, not-for-profit entity).

This means that for a while both the old and new governance structures will be in place so that all contractual obligations can be properly fulfilled.

Independent Advisory Board (IAB)

Under the original arrangement we had an Independent Advisory Board (IAB) consisting of independent experts and donor representatives. The IAB was responsible for guiding strategy and for endorsing funding decisions, based on the recommendations of the Technical Review Panel (described below). You can read a full list of members of the IAB and consortium steering committee to learn more about its composition.

AmplifyChange Members

The new AmplifyChange is a not-for-profit company limited by guarantee, founded by eight Members. The role of the Members is to provide overall stewardship and to appoint the Board of Directors. The AmplifyChange Members, half of whom are from the Global South, are representatives of civil society working on youth empowerment and disability issues, members of parliament and former ministers, as well as independent members of the original AmplifyChange governance. The group of Members will be expanded in due course with an increased share of people from the Global South.

Transitional Board of Directors

The Directors decide on strategy, approve funding applications and provide oversight to the CEO. To steer us through the changes, our Members have appointed a transitional Board of Directors chaired by Dr Narmeen Hamid. She has supported AmplifyChange in South Asia for several years, and we will gain from her social inclusion and gender credentials. Towards the end of the transition period, some Directors will leave and the Members will appoint the first permanent Board of Directors.

Technical Review Panel (TRP)

As before, the Board will be advised by an independent Technical Review Panel (TRP) consisting of independent experts in sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR), each with knowledge of the thematic priorities and experience of the geographic regions where we provide support. TRP members are responsible for reviewing applications and recommending to the Board the best applications based on review criteria relevant to the purpose of the specific grant type.

Grantee Reference Group

A new feature in AmplifyChange will be the Grantee Reference Group. We consulted many grantees during the process of formulating our strategy and they provided extremely valuable insights. This has led us to the decision to establish a more formal and regular forum for grantee consultation. The Terms of Reference (covering the tasks, size and composition) of the Grantee Reference Group are currently being developed. We will update this page with more information once the group has been established.