How we work


How we work - Governance

The AmplifyChange Secretariat develops processes to manage the grant funding cycle.

Our independent Technical Review Panel (TRP) and Independent Advisory Board are the entities responsible for recommending and taking funding decisions that the AmplifyChange Secretariat then implements. 

Our TRP consists of independent experts in sexual and reproductive health and rights, each with knowledge of the thematic priorities and experience of the geographic regions where we provide support. TRP members are responsible for reviewing and recommending applications based on review criteria relevant to the purpose of AmplifyChange grant types.  

Our Board includes independent experts and advocates from the sexual and reproductive health and rights field, as well as representatives from the donor partner agencies that support AmplifyChange. The Independent Advisory Board is responsible for endorsing funding decisions on the basis of recommendations from the TRP. 

The primary review criteria used to make funding recommendations are: (i) relevance of proposed project; (ii) organisational capacity; (iii) sustainability and costs; and (iv) risk and mitigation. 

TRP members must declare any conflict of interest. As soon as a TRP member becomes aware of any potential conflict, the AmplifyChange Secretariat will put in place alternative arrangements for obtaining independent TRP input and advice in order to ensure advice is impartial. 

How we work > Governance

AmplifyChange Independent Advisory Board Composition

(As of July 2019)


Dr. Sara Seims (Chair): Independent SRHR expert

Donor Members

Althea Anderson : William & Flora Hewlett Foundation

Eva-Charlotte Roos:  SIDA, Swedish International Development Cooperation

Jessica Mack:  Large anonymous donor

Klara Christensen: Danida, Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs 

Lana Dakan:  David & Lucile Packard Foundation

Shaun Mellors:  ViiV Healthcare

Victoria Clements:  UK aid, the UK’s Department for International Development

Yvonne Euverman:  Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Independent members

Ambassador Dr. Eunice Brookman-Amissah:  Independent SRHR expert (abortion specialist)

Andrew Bulemi:  Independent expert (finance specialist)

Annika Malmborg:  Independent expert from RFSU (CSO specialist)

Dinah Musindarwezo:  Independent expert (gender and women’s rights specialist)

Erik Thijs Wedershoven:  Independent expert (finance specialist)

Ishita Chaudhry:  Independent expert (youth and CSO specialist)

Mark Chataway:  Independent expert (communications specialist)

Consortium Steering Committee

David Daniels:  Managing Director, MannionDaniels

Latanya Mapp Frett: CEO, Global Fund for Women (GFW)

Theo Sowa:  CEO, African Women’s Development Fund (AWDF)

How we work > Governance

Policy and operational benchmarks

Our Independent Advisory Board has agreed a number of benchmarks to help guide funding decisions and resource allocation. These benchmarks are considered when the Board considers recommendations for funding. They are intended to help ensure that AmplifyChange supports advocacy across each of its main priorities, as well as within countries (our Not to be Missed Countries) where progress on SRHR remains challenging.

For performance against benchmarks please see Results.